v_sync off causes major lag

Forum for anything hard- or software related.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
Sovnig
blew itself up
Posts: 364
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2003 3:46 am
Location: dk

v_sync off causes major lag

Post by Sovnig »

If I turn off v_sync in windows and/or turn it off with gl_swapinterval 0, I get major lags whenever I jump.... i hang in the air.

Code: Select all

/Video settings
m_filter "1"
set ch_alpha					"1"
set ch_blue					"1"
set ch_green					"1"
set ch_pulse					"1.300000"
set ch_red					"1"
set ch_scale					"1"
set cl_autoscreenshot				"0"
set cl_chathud					"0"
set cl_clock					"1"
set cl_fps					"1"
set cl_gunalpha					"0.700000"
set cl_hudalpha					"0.700000"
set cl_maptime					"1"
set cl_netgraphmode				"3"
set cl_run					"1"
set cl_stereo_separation				"0.4"
set cl_timestamps					"2"
set cl_vwep					"1"
set cl_winampmessages				"1"
set con_alpha					"0.4"
set con_notifyfade					"1"
set con_notifylines					"4"
set con_scrlines					"2"
set gl_mode 					"4"
set gl_texturemode           "GL_LINEAR_MIPMAP_LINEAR"
set vid_ref                  "ncgl" 
set gl_modulate              "3.0"
set intensity                "1"
set gl_shadows		     "1"
set gl_polyblend             "1"
set vid_gamma                "0.2"
set gl_replacewal	     "1"
set fov						"100"
set freelook					"1"
set gender					"female"
set gl_3dlabs_broken				"1"
set gl_dynamic					"2"
set gl_dynamics					"2"
set gl_ext_compiled_vertex_array			"1"
set gl_ext_multitexture				"1"
set gl_ext_pointparameters				"0"
set gl_ext_swapinterval				"1"
set gl_finish					"0"
set gl_fontshadow					"1"
set gl_modulate					"3.0"
set gl_particle					"0"
set gl_particle_att_a				"0.01"
set gl_particle_att_b				"0.0"
set gl_particle_att_c				"0.01"
set gl_particle_max_size				"40"
set gl_particle_min_size				"2"
set gl_particle_size				"40"
set gl_replacewal					"1"
set gl_screenshot_quality				"100"
set gl_shadows					"2"
set gl_stainmaps					"0"
set gl_swapinterval					"1"
set gl_texturealphamode				"default"
set gl_texturemode					"GL_LINEAR_MIPMAP_NEAREST"
set gl_texturesolidmode				"default"
set gl_vertex_arrays				"0"
set gl_waterwaves					"3"
set gl_celshading "1"
set cl_drawchathud "1"
set cl_drawtime "1"
set cl_drawping "1" 
set gl_clear "1"
set cl_particles "1"

Any ideas as to what is wrong ? Or if it's not in the cfg, what to do? I'm a complete moron when it comes to changing stuff.
A good discussion is like a miniskirt; long enough to cover the subject, but short enough to pertain interest
//Splinter
fuct
is full of buckshot
Posts: 966
Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2004 2:36 pm
Location: ie

Post by fuct »

Here come the retarded answer..... turn vsync on....
BeAViS
ittssaaa marrrioooo!
Posts: 1390
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2005 5:15 am
Location: it
Contact:

Post by BeAViS »

i have my fps syncronized with my monitor frequency and i play with same windows's resolution (1280z1024@75hz) and it goes smooth.
for real its a shit, because yesterday i had ping > 500 on EVERY server, but thats another story.
- Killing today in old fashioned way -
- Beware of Beavers -
- :mario: -
BeAViS
ittssaaa marrrioooo!
Posts: 1390
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2005 5:15 am
Location: it
Contact:

Post by BeAViS »

ah, set gl_finish 1 even
- Killing today in old fashioned way -
- Beware of Beavers -
- :mario: -
ZoRoXo
tripped on its own grenade
Posts: 325
Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2005 6:16 am
In-game Name: Keeent
Location: no

Post by ZoRoXo »

i have 3,2 ghz prosessor, but if i have gl_shadows "2" that u use then it lag like a handikapped person at maraton.

and also ur code says fov "100" does that work? because i can`t get my fov over 90 :(
Aka. kK >> Keeent
( ) ( )
(^_^)
(~)(~)
Sovnig
blew itself up
Posts: 364
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2003 3:46 am
Location: dk

Post by Sovnig »

ZoRoXo wrote: and also ur code says fov "100" does that work? because i can`t get my fov over 90 :(
Beavis wrote:gl_finish 1
im a complete retard as to this kind of stuff... what does finish and fov do?:)
A good discussion is like a miniskirt; long enough to cover the subject, but short enough to pertain interest
//Splinter
IBA
didn't throw its grenade far enough
Posts: 311
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2003 7:28 am
Location: de
Contact:

Post by IBA »

aehm u changed the standard values in ur config without knowing what it does ? :P
#quadaver || TEAMS !"§ || http://www.quadaver.de
ZoRoXo
tripped on its own grenade
Posts: 325
Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2005 6:16 am
In-game Name: Keeent
Location: no

Post by ZoRoXo »

Sovnig wrote:
ZoRoXo wrote: and also ur code says fov "100" does that work? because i can`t get my fov over 90 :(
Beavis wrote:gl_finish 1
im a complete retard as to this kind of stuff... what does finish and fov do?:)

aint google ur friend? :P

fov means field of view, for excample some ppl have eyes that popp out of their head so they got higher fov :P


u can read a little about gl_ stuff here if u want

http://ezquake.sourceforge.net/docs/?va ... -rendering
Aka. kK >> Keeent
( ) ( )
(^_^)
(~)(~)
Sovnig
blew itself up
Posts: 364
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2003 3:46 am
Location: dk

Post by Sovnig »

IBA wrote:aehm u changed the standard values in ur config without knowing what it does ? :P
As if I ever build my own cfg :)
A good discussion is like a miniskirt; long enough to cover the subject, but short enough to pertain interest
//Splinter
BeAViS
ittssaaa marrrioooo!
Posts: 1390
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2005 5:15 am
Location: it
Contact:

Post by BeAViS »

Sovnig wrote:
IBA wrote:aehm u changed the standard values in ur config without knowing what it does ? :P
As if I ever build my own cfg :)
tooooooooooooooooooo nub
- Killing today in old fashioned way -
- Beware of Beavers -
- :mario: -
Sovnig
blew itself up
Posts: 364
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2003 3:46 am
Location: dk

Post by Sovnig »

BeAViS wrote:
Sovnig wrote:
IBA wrote:aehm u changed the standard values in ur config without knowing what it does ? :P
As if I ever build my own cfg :)
tooooooooooooooooooo nub
indeed, just bought a new mouse.. dont know how to install it :(
A good discussion is like a miniskirt; long enough to cover the subject, but short enough to pertain interest
//Splinter
cheef
blew itself up
Posts: 351
Joined: Sun Aug 29, 2004 1:18 pm
Location: at
Contact:

Post by cheef »

i m sure its a trackball :santa:
Sovnig
blew itself up
Posts: 364
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2003 3:46 am
Location: dk

Post by Sovnig »

cheef wrote:i m sure its a trackball :santa:
nah, it's one of those you ought to have in these modern days it seems... puh, technology :(
A good discussion is like a miniskirt; long enough to cover the subject, but short enough to pertain interest
//Splinter
Post Reply