strafe jump problem

The place to discuss your client and server issues, or to post your client and server related problems. Now with added Anticheat flavour.

Moderator: Moderators

BeAViS
ittssaaa marrrioooo!
Posts: 1390
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2005 5:15 am
Location: it
Contact:

Post by BeAViS »

:D
- Killing today in old fashioned way -
- Beware of Beavers -
- :mario: -
Haudrauf
tripped on its own grenade
Posts: 331
Joined: Tue Aug 26, 2003 11:20 am
Location: de
Contact:

Post by Haudrauf »

in my opinion, this works best:

Monitor on 120 hertz, vertical sync disabled for quake2. (that is true when timerefresh gives more than 120 fps :) .. more like 200 to 1500 fps)

.. using clientvariables:
cl_maxfps 120
rate 15000

.. and if r1q2, then:
r_maxfps 120
cl_async 0

.. r1q2 server:
sv_strafejump_hack 1 - every r1q2 server should have that as default since version 5920

hf.
ImageOwner of http://aq2maps.quadaver.org
Not part of #aq2admins for a reason.
Janner
found a way out
Posts: 200
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2005 12:09 pm
Location: nl

Post by Janner »

fuct wrote:ive learned this from hours of JumpMod :)
these are guideline fps settings for certain jumps

cl_maxfps 31 - ladder jumps
cl_maxfps 40 - double jumps
cl_maxfps 120 - high jumps and ramp jumping
cl_maxfps 90 - everything else

might not be very useful in aq2 but anyway
Jump.cfg wrote:alias fps31 "cl_maxfps 31;bind mwheeldown fps40;echo Maximum fps set to [31]"
alias fps40 "cl_maxfps 40;echo Maximum fps set to [40];bind mwheeldown fps120"
alias fps120 "cl_maxfps 120;echo Maximum fps set to [120];bind mwheeldown fps31"
alias fpsreset "cl_maxfps 90;echo FPS RESET TO [90];bind mwheelup fpsreset;bind mwheeldown fps31"
fpsreset

very handy :)
Hmm, i have 30 FPS somehow, but i can do ladder jumps, ramp jumps, double jumps and everything else exept for jumping on high crates
Proto
saw the light
Posts: 243
Joined: Sat Dec 25, 2004 5:15 pm
Location: no
Contact:

Post by Proto »

Low FPS is good for ladderjumps (28 (28 was the original FPS for AQ2) -31)

High FPS for crate-jumps (90-120)

Normal FPS for strafejumping.. (60-90)

If you have too high FPS while strafejumping, you might get a "fps-stop" .. That means you will suddenly STOP instead of jump, because your accuracy have to be just about perfect.. Very annoying if you stop on the ledge of a house and slip of the edge..

I like 60 FPS :)

So there it is
Plummet is my middle name..
fuct
is full of buckshot
Posts: 966
Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2004 2:36 pm
Location: ie

Post by fuct »

janner those are just optimum settings..most/all jumps will work with 90fps ...just not best :)
Proto
saw the light
Posts: 243
Joined: Sat Dec 25, 2004 5:15 pm
Location: no
Contact:

Post by Proto »

fuct, do you live inside the internet, more precice, in this forum?
Plummet is my middle name..
Clown
unpossible??!?!!
Posts: 1750
Joined: Sun Jul 27, 2003 7:38 am
Location: en

Post by Clown »

Less than 200 posts in a year. I wouldn't say so, Proto.
I don't give a shit.
Proto
saw the light
Posts: 243
Joined: Sat Dec 25, 2004 5:15 pm
Location: no
Contact:

Post by Proto »

maby he just moved in? :)
Plummet is my middle name..
fuct
is full of buckshot
Posts: 966
Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2004 2:36 pm
Location: ie

Post by fuct »

i post when i feel it is necessary


can you feel the irony
Post Reply